The Margaret W. Terrill Linus Pauling
Research Innovator Faculty Scholar

A five-year rotating position, the Margaret W. Terrill Linus Pauling Research Innovator Faculty Scholar was created in 2011 through the generous gift of a friend of the Linus Pauling Institute.


Joseph Beckman

Joe BeckmanIn 2012 Joe Beckman was named the inaugural Terrill Faculty Scholar. One of the world's leading authorities on Lou Gehrig's disease, Beckman has built a strong research program focused on the role of oxidative stress, antioxidants, and dietary factors in neurodegenerative diseases.

In 2001 Beckman came to OSU as a principal investigator in the Linus Pauling Institute, a professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics, and the holder of the Ava Helen Pauling Chair. In 2002 he also became director of OSU's Environmental Health Sciences Center.

Previously Beckman was a professor of anesthesiology, biochemistry, molecular genetics, and neurobiology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham and associate director of its Center for Free Radical Biology. At the center, he published one of the most influential papers ever written on peroxynitrite, a compound which contributes to strokes and many degenerative diseases.

He holds a bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Colorado and a doctorate in plant physiology and biochemistry from Duke University.


Read Next Profile

Back to Existing Endowed Positions

© OSU Foundation | 850 SW 35th St. | Corvallis, Oregon 97333| 541-737-4218 | 541-737-0498 fax

Oregon State University | OSU Foundation